Welcome Alexander!

So here is the story of Alexander’s birth:

Early on the morning of the 14th I awoke to go potty again only something seemed a little strange when I stood up and kept “leaking”. I went back to sleep but when I woke up again to go potty and “it” kept happening I did some research online and realized that this was it and ready or not we were going to have the baby 10 days early! I woke Rob up and told him that he was going to be a daddy again really soon and then I got into the shower. I finished packing my hospital stuff and we called Rob’s mom to make sure she could watch the kids for us. I wasnt really having any consistent contractions but I didnt with Zachary either and we learned our lesson about going to the hospital earlier then we did with him. The drive up to Rob’s parents was a little uncomfortable since the road is under construction and very bumpy. The kids were excited to spend the day with Grandma (again thank you so much Launa for taking them). We got to the hospital about 8am and got all checked in. The nurse checked me eventually and said I was at a 4 so I knew we still had a way to go. The hospital was really busy, they said it happens every time there is a big storm coming something about the pressure change in the weather makes everyones water break. Since my labor wasnt progressing the doctor decided to start me on some pitocin and although I was hoping to go natural with this baby I was too chicken to do that with the pitocin so I got my epidural. About an hour later I was feeling alot of pressure and when the nurse checked me she got my doctor! Alexander was born at 2:14 after 7 minutes or so of pushing. He weighed in at a whooping 9 pounds 7 ounces, by far our biggest baby and he was early unlike the other kids so I am really glad he came when he did. The nurses and doctor were impressed by how alert he was and how highly he scored on the apgars. Rob and I were impressed by how much he looked just like Olivia and Zachary when they were born. I was also just really glad to be able to eat and drink.
2 thoughts on “Welcome Alexander!

  1. Congratulations, though I know I’ve already told you that. I’m glad things went relatively smooth and were able to go home quickly. I usually like to stay in the hospital as long as I can (as long as they have a nursery) and I have them take the babies at night knowing that is the most sleep I’ll get for the next couple of months.

Leave a Reply

